Mama's Fire as it looks on the shelf today

So, in all my years of making Mama’s Fire Tibetan hot sauce, I would hear over and over again, “Wow, this stuff is addictive it is great on every thing”  My response was usually, “Yes except maybe desserts or cereal.”  And now much to my surprise both have been proven wrong.  I was told a little while back that a devoted fan of the sauce loves Mama’s Fire Gourmet Sauce in his oatmeal.  “A savory breakfast dish” he called it.

Two times proven wrong,  I love being proved wring if this is what happens.  My right had man Clint decided he wanted to have a challenge over Facebook to see if a dessert could be made with Mama’s Fire Tibetan hot sauce.  Three cooks took on the challenge. Here is our winners description and recipe for the best rice krispie treats I have ever eaten (and I do love my rice krispy treats).  Jane is a great cook and my supervisor at my day job.  Hot sauce has yet to pay the bills but it continues to be a great joy to me because I get to be a part great things like this contest.   I find out things like, “Wow, my supervisor can cook!”  And, oh yeah, a dessert can made with Mama’s Fire!  Jane has created a masterpiece that is both easy and tasty.

Here is Jane’s description of her experience:

When Clint first asked if I was up for a challenge, I said I couldn’t answer that unless I knew what the challenge was. He clarified the challenge,  “if I had a box of rice krispies, a chocolate bar, a bag of marshmallows, a bag of almonds, and a jar of Mama’s Fire Hot Sauce could I make it into a dessert.

He and Jesse, and several other people, knew the sauce was great in savory recipes but they wanted to know if it could be used in a sweet dish.   Since I like to cook, and especially like to bake desserts, I accepted the challenge despite being very skeptical that this sauce would work with the ingredients Clint specified.

My first reaction was to say “forget it; it can’t be done and be edible”. But, I perused my various rice krispie treat recipes and did a little research on the addition of chili to chocolate, bought my groceries, and developed a recipe for Mama’s Firey Rice Krispie Treats. I wasn’t too sure about them, but when I had my husband try it, he liked it; even though he had no idea what he was eating. He said they were better than regular Rice Krispie Treats.

I took a pan of the treats to Clint. He tasted a piece. Then he ate 3 or so more pieces. He said “Hmmm…” a few times. He seemed to like it. Then he had Jesse try it. He had the same reaction. “Just the right amount of sweet and spicy”, he said. I still wasn’t sure about them but was very happy at least 3 people liked them. Clint gave me a big piece of his to take home so my husband could have another piece since he liked them so well. That night my husband said, “You should make these more often”. Clint also told me that Jesse’s family liked them too. I guess they are a hit. Try them. You might like them too. Mama’s Fire Hot Sauce can be made into a dessert. Who knew? I’m up for another challenge to try the sauce in another dessert.

Jane

Just because it is no fun to read about something this good and not be able to try it for yourself, here is her recipe.  Thank you Jane!

Mama’s Firey Krispie Rice Treats, Recipe Created by Jane Silbernagel

4 Tbsp margarine, cut into 1 Tbsp pieces

6 cup miniature marshmallows

1 milk chocolate bar (7 oz. size), chopped

¼ c almond butter (grind chopped almonds in food processor until paste forms; alternatively, you can buy a jar of almond butter or use the grocery store’s grinder some have for this purpose)

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp ground ginger

1 Tbsp Mama’s Fire Hot Sauce

6 cup krispie rice cereal

Pour the krispie rice cereal into a large bowl and set aside. Melt the butter and chocolate pieces in a large saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly. Turn heat to low and stir in the almond butter and Mama’s Fire Hot Sauce. Once all is melted together, add the marshmallows. Stir until the marshmallows are mostly all melted (this takes several minutes) then stir in the vanilla, ginger, and cinnamon.

 

Once fully melted, pour the cereal into the saucepan. Stir lightly to combine. Turn off heat. Dump the mixture into a greased 9×9 in. pan. Let it cool up to 5 minutes if necessary. Flatten the top with greased hands or a greased rubber spatula. Allow to cool then cut into squares.

Chocolate, cinnamon and Mama's Fire Tibetan hot sauce, a fantastic dessert.

Chocolate, cinnamon and Mama’s Fire Tibetan hot sauce, a fantastic dessert.

Sacred ingredients…Enlightened taste.

